Post Epoch Release: Maple Syrup Barrel Finish May 4, 2019

The Baltimore Spirits Company had their first Post Epoch Rye release of their whiskey finished in a maple syrup barrel. This 100 proof sipping whiskey was aged 2+ years in a new American oak barrel then transferred for nearly half a year into a barrel first used for Bourbon, then used to age maple syrup. The total age is 2 years and 8 months. Their Epoch Straight Rye, which was used for the basis, is the first rye whiskey distilled in Baltimore in 50 years.

IMG_5630-1
Bottles of Post Epoch Rye Whiskey finished in Maple Syrup Barrels

Free tastings were provided as they are every day (up to 4 samples) they are open and so I was able to get a taste of this new release. I am not a whiskey expert but I am an expert on Things I Like and I found it to have a very nice flavor.

IMG_5629-1
Products of Baltimore Spirits Company

As you can see from the above photo they have a selection of very interesting beverages. You can get details on each of them by clicking here.

IMG_5634-1
Tasting Room of Baltimore Spirits Company

Entering their facility is a bit of a surprise. Their beautifully antique styled tasting room up front is in a large room that also has their distillery in the rear and buffered in between are the barrels aging their products. They are located in Union Collective.

IMG_5653-1
Staff of Baltimore Spirits Company

They have free distillery tours every hour on Saturdays from 1pm to 5pm and I did the 1pm which was lead by co-Founder and CFO Ian Newton (center in the photo above). I learned a lot about how they make their products and I highly recommend coming down and doing this. Every one of the staff I interacted with was friendly and enthusiastic. I definitely plan to return in the future to try more of their products, some of which are released on a seasonal basis.

IMG_5657-1
Sugarvale

Sugarvale was also on hand to help celebrate and although I did not partake of their cocktails some other customers in the area seemed to be enjoying their purchases.

IMG_5659-1
So Good BBQ

I did, however, get a pulled pork sandwich from So Good BBQ who was also on hand. I took it without sauce and it was delicious with a sweet and smoky flavor. If you run into them definitely give them a try!

Be sure to check out other photos I took at this event by clicking here!

2 thoughts on “Post Epoch Release: Maple Syrup Barrel Finish May 4, 2019

Leave a comment